Archive for September, 2009

2009 Top 100 Best Global Brands Rankings

Friday, September 18th, 2009

1 Coca-Cola 68,734 3% US

2 IBM 60,211 2% US

3 Microsoft 56,647 -4% US

4 GE 47,777 -10% US

5 Nokia 34,864 -3% Finland

6 McDonald’s 32,275 4% US

7 Google 31,980 25% US

8 Toyota 31,330 -8% Japan

9 Intel 30,636 -2% US

10 Disney 28,447 -3% US

Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich

Thursday, September 10th, 2009

The Ludwig-Maximilians-University of Munich (German: Ludwig-Maximilians-Universit?t München), also known as LMU, is a university in Munich and, with more than 44,000 students, is the second-largest university in Germany. The majority of foreign exchanges at the University of Munich are with European universities. The main building is situated in Ludwigstrasse. The university’s main campus is served by the Munich U-Bahn’s Universit?t station.

According to the Academic Ranking of World Universities (2006), the LMU is the highest ranked German university (51st), and according to the German FOCUS ranking, the LMU is the second highest ranked German university (behind the Technical University of Munich). (more…)

University of Leipzig

Thursday, September 10th, 2009

The University of Leipzig (German: Universit?t Leipzig), located in Leipzig in the Free State of Saxony, Germany, is one of the oldest universities in Europe and the second-oldest university (by consecutive years of existence) in Germany. It has a long tradition of globally oriented and culturally comparative historical research and tertiary-level teaching.

The university was founded on December 2, 1409 by Frederick I, Elector of Saxony and his brother William II, Margrave of Meissen, and originally comprised four faculties. Since its inception the university has enjoyed almost 600 years of uninterrupted teaching and research. (more…)

University of Freiburg

Thursday, September 10th, 2009

The University of Freiburg (German Albert-Ludwigs-Universit?t Freiburg, colloquially Uni Freiburg ), sometimes referred to in English as the Albert Ludwig University of Freiburg, is a public research university located in Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Württemberg, Germany.

The university was founded in 1457 by the Hapsburg dynasty as the second university in Austrian-Habsburg territory after the University of Vienna. Today, Freiburg is the fifth-oldest university in Germany, with a long tradition of teaching the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences. The university is made up of 11 faculties and attracts students from across Germany as well as from over one hundred and twenty other countries.

The University of Freiburg is considered one of Europe’s most prestigious universities and is amongst its top research and teaching institutions. With its long-standing reputation of excellence, the university looks both to the past, to maintain its academic and cultural heritage, and to the future, developing new methods and opportunities to meet the needs of a changing world. The University of Freiburg has been home to some of the greatest minds of the Western tradition, including such eminent figures as Johann Eck, Max Weber, Rudolf Carnap, Edmund Husserl, Friedrich Meinecke, Martin Heidegger, Hannah Arendt, Hans-Georg Gadamer and Friedrich Hayek. In addition, 19 Nobel laureates are affiliated with the University of Freiburg and 13 academics have been honored with the highest German research prize, the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize, while working at the University of Freiburg.

As of 2007, the university has been designated an elite German “University of Excellence”. (more…)

Technical University of Munich

Thursday, September 10th, 2009

Technische Universit?t München (TUM; sometimes translated as Technical University Munich) is a research university with campuses in Munich, Garching, and Weihenstephan.

TUM is among the highest acclaimed universities in Germany, producing several Nobel Laureates including Gerhard Ertl who in 2007 received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry. (more…)

York University

Tuesday, September 1st, 2009

York University (French: Université York) is a university located in Toronto, Ontario. It is Canada’s third-largest university and has produced several of the country’s top leaders across the humanities and in sciences such as chemistry, meteorology and space science.

York supports a student population of approximately 60,000 and staff of 7,000, as well as 200,000 alumni worldwide. It has eleven faculties, including the Faculty of Science and Engineering, Schulich School of Business, Osgoode Hall Law School, Glendon College, Faculty of Fine Arts, Faculty of Health and the Faculty of Environmental Studies, as well as 24 research centres.

York University has always enjoyed a strong participation in the Canadian Space Program. The Faculty of Science and Engineering is Canada’s primary research facility into Martian exploration and has designed several space research instruments and applications currently used by NASA. (more…)

Australian Catholic University

Tuesday, September 1st, 2009

Australian Catholic University, or ACU National, is Australia’s only public Catholic university. It has more than 13,000 students and 900 staff on six campuses located in three states and the Australian Capital Territory. ACU National, which is open to all staff and students regardless of their religious beliefs, is affiliated with the Association of Commonwealth Universities and the International Federation of Catholic Universities. Western Australian academic Greg Craven became the Vice Chancellor at the start of 2008.

The University was formed in 1991 by the amalgamation of four Catholic institutes of higher education in Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria and the Australian Capital Territory. ACU National and its predecessor institutions have played an important role in Australia by training many teachers and nurses employed in the public, Catholic and other health systems.

The university’s Mission aims to add a “spiritual dimension” to higher education in Australia, similar to the aims of the great Catholic universities of Europe and North America. There is a strong social justice element in the university’s Mission and programs. (more…)

Singapore Management University

Tuesday, September 1st, 2009

The Singapore Management University (Abbreviation: SMU; Chinese: 新加坡管理大学; Malay: Universiti Pengurusan Singapura; Tamil: ??????????? ??????? ?????????????) was officially incorporated on January 12, 2000, and is Singapore’s first private university funded by the government.

Presently, SMU is home to more than 6,000 students and comprises six schools offering undergraduate and graduate programmes in Business Management, Accountancy, Economics, Information Systems Management, Law and the Social Sciences. The University also has an Office of Research, a number of centres of excellence, and provides public and customised programmes for working professionals through its Office of Executive Education. (more…)