Technical University of Munich

Technische Universit?t München (TUM; sometimes translated as Technical University Munich) is a research university with campuses in Munich, Garching, and Weihenstephan.

TUM is among the highest acclaimed universities in Germany, producing several Nobel Laureates including Gerhard Ertl who in 2007 received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

The TUM, like many German universities, is a “no campus” university. However, with further expansion plans for the Garching site, more and more departments are to be placed into new buildings in Garching. The Garching campus, unlike the downtown area, is set up more like a traditional “quadrangle” style campus with a large grouping of buildings. At the moment, university buildings are spread over four main and several minor locations:

Main campus in downtown Munich
Garching (Mathematics, Computer Science, Physics, Chemistry, Mechanical Engineering, …), complete with an on-campus General Electric Company facility
Weihenstephan (Center for Life and Food Science)
Hospital “Klinikum Rechts der Isar” (Medicine), Munich

Technische Universit?t München (TUM)
Technische Universit?t München
Established: 1868
Type: Public
President: Wolfgang A. Herrmann
Staff: 7,356 (395 Professors; 4,160 Academic)
Students: 21,608[1]
Location: Munich, Germany
Affiliations: German Universities Excellence Initiative

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply