York University

York University (French: Université York) is a university located in Toronto, Ontario. It is Canada’s third-largest university and has produced several of the country’s top leaders across the humanities and in sciences such as chemistry, meteorology and space science.

York supports a student population of approximately 60,000 and staff of 7,000, as well as 200,000 alumni worldwide. It has eleven faculties, including the Faculty of Science and Engineering, Schulich School of Business, Osgoode Hall Law School, Glendon College, Faculty of Fine Arts, Faculty of Health and the Faculty of Environmental Studies, as well as 24 research centres.

York University has always enjoyed a strong participation in the Canadian Space Program. The Faculty of Science and Engineering is Canada’s primary research facility into Martian exploration and has designed several space research instruments and applications currently used by NASA.

York University

Motto: Tentanda via
(“The way must be tried”)
Established: 1959
Type: Public
Endowment: $306 million (CAD)
Chancellor: Roy McMurtry
President: Mamdouh Shoukri
Staff: 7,000
Undergraduates: 45,890
Postgraduates: 4,796
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Campus: Urban / suburban, 2.17 km?
Sports teams: York Lions
Colours: Red and white
Affiliations: AUCC, IAU, COU, CIS, OUA, CUSID, Fields Institute, Ontario Network of Women in engineering, CBIE, CUP.
Website: yorku.ca

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply