University of Miami

The University of Miami (commonly referred to as UM, Miami of Florida, or The U) is a private, non-sectarian university founded in 1925 in the city of Coral Gables, Florida, a historic suburb of Miami. The Miller School of Medicine and various other departments are located in Miami proper at the Miami Civic Center and on Virginia Key.

The university currently enrolls 15,449 students in approximately 115 undergraduate, 114 master’s, 51 doctoral, and two professional areas of study. The University’s students represent all 50 states and 148 foreign countries. There are currently 2,348 full-time faculty members whose ranks include Fulbright Scholars, Guggenheim Fellows, and National Science Foundation award recipients. Of this distinguished faculty, 97% hold doctorates or terminal degrees in their field. With more than 13,000 full and part-time faculty and staff, UM is the largest private employer in Miami-Dade County.

The University of Miami is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and 23 additional professional and educational accrediting agencies. UM is a member of the American Association of University Women, the American Council on Education, the American Council of Learned Societies, the Association of American Colleges, the Florida Association of Colleges and Universities, and the National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities.

University of Miami
Motto: Magna est veritas (Latin)
Motto in English: Great is the truth
Established: 1925
Type: Private
Endowment: $736 million USD
President: Donna Shalala
Staff: 2,348
Students: 15,449
Undergraduates: 10,379
Postgraduates: 5,070
Location: Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Miami, Florida
Campus: Suburban
Colors: Orange, Green and White
Nickname: Hurricanes
Mascot: Sebastian the Ibis
Athletics: NCAA Division I, Atlantic Coast Conference

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply