Imperial College London

Imperial College London (officially The Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine as titled in its Royal Charter) is a British university in London specialising in science, engineering, medicine and business.

Imperial was placed 5th overall in the world in the 2009 THE – QS World University Rankings of universities worldwide, and 27th in the world by the Shanghai Jiao Tong Academic Ranking of World Universities.

Imperial College London is a member of the Russell Group of Universities, a part of the Golden Triangle, the IDEA League, the European University Association, AMBA, the Association of Commonwealth Universities, and the League of European Research Universities.

Imperial’s main campus is located in South Kensington in Central London, on the boundary between the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea and the City of Westminster (the Knightsbridge part), with its front entrance on Exhibition Road. Including Imperial’s other campuses, there is a total of 525,233 square metres (5,653,560 sq ft) of property which is the largest operational estate of any higher education institution in the UK.

Formerly a constituent college of the University of London, Imperial became independent of the university on 8 July 2007, the 100th anniversary of its founding.

Imperial College London
Motto Scientia imperii decus et tutamen
Knowledge is the adornment and protection of the Empire
Established 8 July 1907
Type Public
Endowment ?261.5 million (2007/08)
Rector Sir Roy Anderson
Visitor The Lord President of the Council ex officio
Staff approx. 8,000 (2007/08)
Students 13,410
Undergraduates 8,350
Location London, UK
Campus Urban
Affiliations Russell Group
Association of MBAs
IDEA League
Association of Commonwealth Universities
‘Golden Triangle’
Oak Ridge Associated Universities
European Quality Improvement System

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply